Are you happy with your life?

Actually, I’m going to start a little bit away from my title.  When I was doing my diagnosis assessment, I also had to do a sheet that was supposed to see if I might have depression.  I’m not sure why.  Anyway, one of the questions was something like “do you see your future being happy?”  I answered no.  Another question was something like “do you see your future being bad?”  I again answered no.  I have never been very good at visualizing the future.  I have been told that this is a normal aspie thing, which is interesting to me.  When I was young, I always struggled with the “what do you want to be when you grow up?” question, and I couldn’t figure out how everyone else came up with answers so easily.  Heck, I’m 30 now, and I’m only starting to get a handle on this question.

But then there are the questions in the present tense.  Such as, “Are you happy with your life?”  I honestly don’t know how to answer this question.  There are parts of my life that I am happy with, and parts of my life that I am unhappy with.  I have absolutely no idea how to generalize that into a basic yes or no answer to that question.  In fact, I can’t figure out how anyone else could, either.  Many people do far more things that I do and have far more complicated lives, so it stands to reason that they would also have things about their lives that they like, and other things that the do not like, plus any number of things in between.

I suspect that for some people, they answer it as though it is asking “are you happy with your job?” but that’s just a guess.

I have no idea if my confusion is an aspie thing or if I’m just really strange, but it’s definitely something I find odd.

1 Comment

Filed under personal

One response to “Are you happy with your life?

  1. Neeneko

    I find it interesting to compare this against your black and white thinking….. this answer involves a lot of mixing and grey, ne?