Miracle Mineral Solution

So there’s a new health quackery making the rounds.  Maybe you’ve heard of it – Miracle Mineral Solution, or MMS.

It has been touted as a cure for all sorts of things (“AIDS, hepatitis A,B and C, malaria, herpes, TB, most cancer and many more of mankind’s worse diseases”) but now AutismOne has helped them add a new thing to the list – autism.

To put it simply, MMS is bleach.  Industrial bleach that they are telling you to administer orally, or bathe in, or put in your eyes or ears, or administer as an enema to your autistic child in order to “cure” them.  They claim that because MMS has disinfectant properties and the same chemicals can be used to disinfect water, it can also somehow eliminate pathogens from your body and cure you of what ails you, whatever that happens to be.  Or cure your autistic child – and perpetuating this on children is far worse than doing it to yourself (which is really quite bad enough).

To put it less simply, it’s a 28% sodium chlorite solution which the user is supposed to activate by mixing it with something acidic like orange juice or vinegar.  Once that is done, it causes a chemical reaction changing the sodium chlorite to chlorine dioxide.  Chlorine dioxide is an industrial bleaching agent.

Not surprisingly, use of this stuff tends to cause vomiting and diarrhea.  What probably should be surprising but isn’t is that proponents of MMS claim that vomiting and diarrhea are signs that it’s working.  Other people have gone over the scientific aspects of its problems far better than I could, so I simply invite you to read what they have written if you are curious – though admittedly, I would hope that “bleach enema” would be enough for anyone to stay away from the stuff.

Also, if you are interested, there is a petition on change.org urging a ban on MMS as a curative agent (it obviously still has industrial uses).

5 Comments

Filed under rant

5 responses to “Miracle Mineral Solution

  1. A friend of mine is interesting to buy some MMS – Miracle Mineral Solutions products to fight his “skin disease”
    We found website http://www.mmsdrops.com/ where you can buy some “miracle minerals solutions”.
    Do you think it’s safe to try if it’s working or better not to risk?
    There is a lot of opinion about MMS and we are so confused……

    Thanks

  2. Wow that is scary. I bet if I bleach-enema’ed my kids at home, I’d be put in jail. For good reason. I thought there were certain ethical standards for human experimentation?

  3. If it sounds to good to be true, it is. End of discussion.

  4. Andreas

    Well, rarely, if it sounds too good to be true, it’s in fact true.
    Watch these vidoes:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/MMStestimonials
    I also have Aspergers and ADHD but, being 46 years old, I thought
    biomedical treatments including MMS are for kids, not for me.
    Now I will give it a try, because the data show that I have reason for hope.
    MMS is a real breakthrough for sure. I use it since 2 years now.
    I might even be more useful than I imagined.

  5. The scariest thing I’ve seen in my life was a mother using MMS enemas on her autistic child and posting pictures of the results on her blog. Yes, pictures of his stool. Well, he was mostly pooping INTESTINAL LINING. It was terrible. She thought they were parasites fleeing his poor little helpless autistic body and that it was proof the MMS was working. I wish I could unsee those pictures and pretend there aren’t any parents willing to do that. But there are. And they sincerely believe they are helping their child.

    Personally, I am of the opinion that even doctors sometimes try to put things in my body that might not be the best for me (like how nobody seems to believe me when I say I can’t handle ibuprofen). But that only means I get to veto stuff. It doesn’t mean I get to experiment on myself with other stuff that no medical professional has ever condoned or found safe to use. Let alone experiment on others.