I am having thoughts

I’m reblogging from Disability and Representation again (click on the title to see her post). Her blog frequently makes me think.

She makes a lot of good points here about homelessness, poverty, accessibility, and systemic problems.

However, the thing that I keep thinking about is what she’s doing. She’s written about it before and I’ve thought about it before, and I find I keep thinking about it more and more and more.

She, she has this thing where she makes simple bag lunches – a sandwich, a fruit, some cookies – and then goes around her city giving them to hungry people who maybe otherwise wouldn’t get a meal. It’s such a small thing but also such a huge thing and I find I want to do it too.

Only I don’t know Philadelphia all that well (at all, really). And I doubt I would feel safe. And transporting lunches from where I live down to the city would be possible, but logistically tricky. But I could do it with a partner! If I could find a partner.

So yeah. It’s on my mind. I want to do this. I can’t do big, impressive things but surely I can find a way to do small things.

Right?

1 Comment

December 12, 2013 · 12:27 pm

One response to “I am having thoughts

  1. Kathryn

    Right, inspiration to help others is like a light going from one person to the next. Do what you can and feel good about it. I like to give blood to the Red Cross, no money is involved and they always thank me and give me a bottle of water.