No proper update this week

So you get this instead, because I don’t want to just ignore my blog, and my readers, for a whole week. And I probably could do an update the way I usually do, what with all the posts in my pending folder, but I honestly don’t want to.

Yesterday I found out that my 16 year old cat has cancer, and if you have pets you love then you probably have an idea of what this is like. I’m coping ok, but there are hard decisions to be made, and Nee and I have to make them soon.

So far I have plenty of cope left to deal with what needs to be dealt with, but I am not feeling super inclined to spend extra spoons on other things just yet.

Don’t worry though, I don’t plan on waxing eloquent about that over here. I don’t think I could put an autism spin on it, as it’s not really an autism thing. Just an autistic person dealing with crap thing. As it is, I’ll try to go back to regular posts next week.

9 Comments

Filed under personal

9 responses to “No proper update this week

  1. John Knighton

    Commiserations, Andraya.

  2. Autism Mom

    So sorry to hear your sad news.

  3. I’m really sorry to hear this. I’ve been sad lately because it’s about a year since I found out my cat had terminal cancer. I think for me it had an autism spin because my bond with her was stronger due to my childhood special interest in cats, and having her company compensated a bit for my difficulties with human friendships. I hope things turn out ok for your puss.

    • You make a good point about cats. I have always felt more of a connection to cats than I do to humans, and cat behavior makes so much more sense to me than human behavior. I get intensely close to my cats, and I consider them family members.

      Sadly, things will not turn out ok for Genzi. He is 16, and if we went through extremely expensive treatment we’d only get a 25% chance of another year. It’s not worth it. So now it’s just about keeping him happy for as long as we can.