Franklin Institute Follow Up

A while back I wrote about an attempt to enjoy a sensory friendly day at the Franklin Institute, and how it turned out Very Badly. To sum it up, since it was over a month ago now, I went to what was billed a “sensory friendly Sunday” at the Franklin Institute. However, it turned out that “sensory friendly day” actually means “sensory friendly morning,” but this information is not necessarily readily available. It isn’t even listed on their website’s page about the event. When I had gone into the electronics exhibit, a large tesla coil went off and, well, that was that. It was painful and horrible and completely without warning.

However, a while after I wrote that post, I actually heard from the Assistant Director of Museum Programs from the Franklin Institute! I wrote back asking permission to share her email in my blog but never did hear back, so I guess I’ll just try to sum it up. Her email covered three basic points.

  1. I had complained in my post that there was only one sensory friendly day every two months, which is not much. She pointed out that there is a lot of demand and competition for different programs and events, and they are happy that they can offer as much as they can. And… point taken. Not exactly delightful to hear (it can sound a bit like “take what you can get and be grateful!”) but honestly, that is sorta where I am at the moment anyway. And it IS nice that they are making an effort – not everyone out there is.
  2. She agreed that the electricity exhibit is a problem. “It is an extremely sensory-unfriendly experience, and based on your feedback, we can begin a conversation internally of how to better inform guests of what they will experience.” That’s pretty awesome, and I hope eventually they are able to make improvements. Heck, I’d be happy to contribute to that conversation, assuming I’d even have anything to add or would be welcome.
  3. The next sensory friendly day (morning) is September 13th, which is only two weekends away. She expressed a hope that I would try again, and if so, email her so she could meet me in person!

That last point is the one that I am most bouncy about. Meet an official museum person? To maybe talk about museum stuff? And sensory stuff? just… wow! I haven’t solidly decided to do so yet, but I think I should. Going on my own is still really hard, but if I can find someone to haul along with me, I think I would really like to try.

I’m writing this for two reasons.

  1. This is pretty cool, and I wanted to share. Yay for hearing from a museum person!
  2. I want your thoughts. What do you think of the points raised? Do you think I should try to meet her? If I do, what sorts of things would you like me to remember or keep in mind or mention?
2 Comments

Filed under request

2 responses to “Franklin Institute Follow Up

  1. That’s so great! I think it’s really nice that they responded. 🙂 If you do meet her, I think it would be a great opportunity for the museum to put a face to their “sensory friendly” plans and might help them consider it a bit more consciously in the future. Yay for you! 😀

  2. Pingback: There is no wind in my sails | Aspergers and Me