There is no wind in my sails

It’s about the Franklin Institute again.

As a quick refresher, a while back I went to the Franklin Institute on their Sensory Friendly Day. Long story short, it went badly. VERY badly. So I wrote about my bad experience and went on with my life.

Until, that is, Adrienne Kimball, listed on the website, emailed me about my blog post. You can read about that email over here. Basically, she addressed some points about the day, and invited me to go back to meet with her and talk about ways to improve the exhibits and better warn people about sensory-unfriendly areas. I thought this was pretty awesome, and decided to take her up on it.

But then… she ignored me. I tried to email her and set things up, and got absolutely nothing in reply. Since then I’ve felt… embarrassed, honestly. Like she lied to me and I was naive enough to believe the lies. I got my hopes up and thought that maybe, FINALLY, someone actually wanted to listen to autistic adults and hear what we have to say, but then it all turned to dust.

Now I feel like I’ve run out of gas. I’m just a foolish, naive aspie who has delusions of actually Doing Something Good. I’ve been trying to remind myself of the times when y’all have told me about how my writing has helped you, which is honestly WONDERFUL to hear, but I still feel really foolish about this whole museum thing. I’m trying to take a deep breath and keep going, but this feeling of being stalled isn’t going away. So I am doing what I do best, and writing about it.

What do you do when you hit something like this?

3 Comments

Filed under personal

3 responses to “There is no wind in my sails

  1. I used to be in sales, and it’s hard to tell when it’s being ignored, or being at the bottom of a very large pile of somebody else’s priorities – cause OUR thing is the TOP of our pile, but it’s just a thing-t0-get-to-eventually for others.

    Perhaps see what department she is in, and then reach out to the department in general, with the “I know she’s busy, but I didn’t want our project to get buried under other things… what do you suggest?” approach. Don’t know if this helps, but I hope it does. Feel free to email me (autistikids@gmail.com) if you want to. Maybe we can get something going for them 🙂

  2. What if you were to email her a link to this post?

  3. I see someone else commented with a similar idea, but what I was going to say was, maybe you could email the person above her (her supervisor) and just say, “I was corresponding with Adrienne about Sensory Friendly Day, and she invited me to meet with her to discuss it more. I would like to set something up, but I can’t seem to get in touch with her. I wondered if she is on vacation or something, or if you could help me make contact with her.” I think it would be awesome if you are able to use your experiences and knowledge to make Sensory Friendly Day better for everyone who needs it!